Translations of this page?:

Organizing & Classifying Information

Introduction & Permissions

When an object (a task, note, document, event, etc.) is classified somewhere - be it a Project, Client, Workspace, etc. - only the users who count with access to this area will be able to access the information. Otherwise, the object will remain hidden.

Lets say an object is classified within two different Projects, then if a user counts with permissions to at least one of them, he will be able to access the object in question.

On the other hand, please bear in mind that in case an object is classified within two different places from different Dimensions, i.e.: classified within one Project and also within one Workspace, then the user should have access permissions to both of them in order to access the object in question.

Lets have a look at the different ways of classifying information:

Drag & Drop Classification

This is the fastest and easiest way of them all.

Lets say you have a Client named 27 Bar and two Projects within called Move your soul and Nights that last 24/7, and you would like to copy or move some documents from Move your soul to Nights that last 24/7.

1- First thing you have to make, is select Move your soul so that you can see the documents related to this Project:

2- Then, you have to select the document you would like to move

3- Now place the mouse on top of the dots next to the name, as shown below, and then click (and hold)

4- Holding your mouse, move it to the Project named Night that stands 24/7 (or anywhere else), and release the mouse click.

5- After releasing the mouse click, the system may ask you - depending on the context - the following question: Do you want to maintain the current associations of this object with Clients & Projects?

  1. Click OK to make a copy of the document
  2. Click Cancel if you want to move the document from one Project to another

After you are done, you may notice that now the document has been classified within both Projects:

In case you would like to do the same for many documents at the same time, you can quickly select them all as shown below, and then dragging and dropping as explained before:

On the other hand, if you would like to declassify information, you need to drop the selected objects into the View all section.

Note: This feature is currently available for everything but tasks. Tasks count with a different classification method.

Editing the properties

Another way to reclassify information, is doing it by the object (Note, Task, Document, Event, Email, etc.) edition.

When you access an object, you will see to what is it Related to. This can be found below its description, as shown here:

You should click on Edit on the Actions list on your right if you wish to edit the properties of the object.

Where it says Related to, you will be able to select a new place where to classify the object in question. In the example below we can notice it is only classified in Nights that last 24/7 project, which is within 27 Bar.

Lets suppose we want it to be also classified within the project named All Goods Supermarket, then we would just have to start typing the already existent project name, and the area will be autocompleted to select it.

Once we select it, it will look like this:

If we click on Remove, the object will no longer be classified there.

After selecting where will be the objects at, we just have to press Save changes on the top or on the bottom. Now the object will look like this - look at the Related to -:

Tasks Classification

Tasks count with their own Drag & Drop classification feature, which is slightly different form the one explained above.

These options will let you change the following:

  1. Change their group
  2. Make them subtasks of other tasks

When accessing the Tasks tab you will be able to filter the information, and also change the grouping option. This is very important as you will be able to reclassify task through the different groups, provided that the group you are filtering by allows you so.

In order to find out whether you can do this, you need to look for the dots at the beginning of the task:

Changing the task group

This example will show us how to quickly change one or more tasks priority from the group Urgent to High.

1- Click on the dots (and hold) of the task in question

It will look like this:

2- Move the mouse to the other group name

3- Release the mouse click, and the task will be reclassified:

Other useful Grouping options you may use are:

  1. Clients & Projects (to change the Client or Project where the task is at)
  2. Workspaces (to change the task from one Workspace to another)
  3. Milestones (to change the task from one Milestone to another)
  4. Assigned to (to change the assignee of a task)
  5. etc.

Making them subtasks of other tasks

1- Click on the dots (and hold) of the task in question which will become the subtask

It will look like this:

2- Move the mouse to the task that is going to be the parent task

3- Release the mouse click, and the task will be reclassified as subtask

Multiple Tasks Classification

If you are thinking that classifying tasks right now is “hard”, well, you are right. You have to go through the full edition screen and this does take a long time. That is why in the upcoming versions we will be improving this feature so that it is not as time consuming!

Good news are that, on the meantime, there is a workaround:

You first have to stand on the Overview tab, and then click on the View as list option on the top right corner, as shown below.

You can change the view to the previous one by clicking on the top right corner again on View as dashboard.

This way you will be able to drag & drop tasks into Tags, Clients, Projects and even Workspaces, just like we previously explained in this very article.

Email Classification

Sent Emails

If you would like to have a specific email classified somewhere before sending it, you first have to stand on the Client, Project, Folder, Workspace, etc., you would like it to have it at, and then create the email and send it.

Received Emails

To start with, remember that you may set up Email Rules to make things easier here! They do save a lot of time!!

Then, when classifying an email into a Client, Project, Folder, Workspace, etc., if the email has an attachment, and the user configuration option is set up to classify attached documents or the user manually selects this option, the attachments will be classified as documents and will be accessed through the Documents tab.

However, if there already exists a file with the same filename and file extension, it will depend on the file contents:

  1. if the contents are identical (which is done through a hash comparison), the new files will not be classified
  2. if the contents are different, the new files will be added as a new revision of the existing document

Discussion

PLEASE NOTE: Comments to the wiki should only contain suggestions and questions that help us to improve the manual (and not the software). These comments will be deleted as soon as the information has been integrated into the manual.

Posts that do not contribute to the DOCUMENTATION of the project will be DELETED.

Ask QUESTIONS on the product here.
Report BUGS here.
Propose NEW FEATURES here.


Enter your comment
 
classification.txt · Last modified: 2014-05-21 13:02 by franponce87
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported


Terms of Service | Copyright © 2014 fengoffice.com